Aluminium vs fibreglass

All topics related to fishing and angling in Victoria that don't fit into one of the other forum categories.
Nickkringle

Aluminium vs fibreglass

Post by Nickkringle » Mon Apr 29, 2019 8:25 pm

Hi all I'm new to this forum and I'm pleased to be apart of it.ive done some surf fishing with no luck but a lot of goodluck landbased at the baron river with whiting.. looking at getting into boating on westernport and port philipbay chasing gummies and snapper mainly and looking at buying a 4.2+ meter tinny or a half cabin fibreglass I've got a fair bit of boating experience in freshwater lakes and rivers but never operated a boat in the bays as I'm new to Victorian waters 5 (years) in victoria.. so I am just asking what's a preferred boat and why fibreglass is better and vice versa. Thanks in advance budget I'm looking at is $6000

e.welch
Has liked: 190 times

Re: Aluminium vs fibreglass

Post by e.welch » Mon Apr 29, 2019 8:27 pm

always a tinny they are stronger and will last longer

Nickkringle

Post by Nickkringle » Mon Apr 29, 2019 8:31 pm

e.welch wrote:
Mon Apr 29, 2019 8:27 pm
Yea that's what I was thinking I'm looking at a quintrex sandpaper at geelong marine world for $5500 but im also looking at a carribean fibreglass half cabin for $4000 but I'd prefer tinny knowing in the back of my mind it can handle a fair bit of roughness to it without thinking I'm going to take on water

purple5ive
Has liked: 567 times

Post by purple5ive » Mon Apr 29, 2019 8:33 pm

e.welch wrote:
and how exactly did you come up with that conclusion?

purple5ive

Post by purple5ive » Mon Apr 29, 2019 8:39 pm

Nickkringle wrote:
Mon Apr 29, 2019 8:25 pm