Soft plastics: as many species as I can possibly catch

ChrisTaylor
Has liked: 27 times

Soft plastics: as many species as I can possibly catch

Post by ChrisTaylor » Fri Jan 17, 2020 5:57 pm

I mostly catch-and-release, so I'm not too fussed about the size of fish or catching species for the table (although I'm happy to taste pretty much anything). I do maybe 90% of my fishing with soft plastics. I'm no expert, and I'm not the guy wearing Daiwa-branded clothing and a GoPro screaming out 'fish on!', but I think -- think -- I've started to crack the code when it comes to plastics. This year I'm aiming to catch as many different species as possible. Mostly I'm figuring I'll use this thread to keep track of what I've caught -- so I guess I better start taking pix -- and to share my limited knowledge of plastics. I fish landbased, mostly at Frankston and Mornington.

My outfit: Daiwa Itchy Twitchy, w/ Shimano Stradic 2500FK. This is my go-to rod for almost everything. The braid is light -- 6, 8 pound? if I recall correctly -- and I usually use a 4 pound leader. My preferred plastics are Keitech 2 inch 'Easy Shiners', fished on suitably small jigheads (between 1 and 2 grams, with small hooks). My heavier soft plastics outfit is a Daiwa Supacaster, paired with a Stradic 4000 and 20 pound braid/16 pound leader. The latter I picked up for chasing mulloway, mostly, although I reckon it'll work for cod (a species I've never chased, and know three fifths of nothing about).

So far -- 24 Jan -- I've picked up:
  • Snapper
  • Flathead
  • Aus Salmon
  • Barracouta
  • Mullet
  • Toadfish
  • Eastern Gobbleguts
  • Estuary Perch
  • Silver trevally
  • Tommy rough
  • Some kind of mackeral? TBC
In the past I've caught -- and been broken off by -- other species (either on plastics or using some other method), but I'm listing only what I've landed in 2020.