Loading braid onto a spool

saph
Has liked: 4 times

Loading braid onto a spool

Post by saph » Wed Feb 05, 2020 11:45 am

Hi, just need some tips on loading braid onto a spinning reel as i have never done this before. Thanks.

EDIT: this is done see post http://www.fishing-victoria.com/viewtop ... 49#p318749
Last edited by saph on Thu Feb 06, 2020 8:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

Sebb
Has liked: 3001 times

Re: Loading braid onto a spool

Post by Sebb » Wed Feb 05, 2020 12:24 pm

Put the braid to another reel (old reel or whatever) just by winding and set some drag.
Put the new reel on a rod, put some mono first to prevent it from slipping on the intended reel and tie the braid with fg knot or slim beauty knot. And wind.
So it's like old reel with the line through the rod and to the new reel.
The drag on the old reel is to make it tight on the new reel.
Loose braid on a spool is a ticking bomb. Only matter of time before air knot etc happen.
------------------------------
A fish is a fish :ft:
No fish is worth a life, stay safe

eddyt
Has liked: 25 times

Post by eddyt » Wed Feb 05, 2020 12:26 pm

For the average reel - spool on about 10m of mono or enough to cover the base. Attach your braid to the mono with a knot and keep spooling it on. The mono stops the braid from slipping on the spool. Otherwise, put masking tape on the base before you spool on the braid.

Fancy reels with special backing - just spool straight on.

hornet
Has liked: 123 times

Post by hornet » Wed Feb 05, 2020 1:00 pm

Put the braid on tight ! and when winding back on the reel after a cast try to keep the line tight with your fingers or say hello to Mr wind knot. ( He's a mongrel ! )
He who has the most fishing rods WINS ! :ts:

denis barden

Post by denis barden » Wed Feb 05, 2020 3:42 pm

Easy
Throw the braid in the bin and use mono job dun

hornet
Has liked: 123 times

Post by hornet » Wed Feb 05, 2020 3:52 pm

denis barden wrote:
Wed Feb 05, 2020 3:42 pm
Easy