Reel Size recommendation - noobie

Dusky

Reel Size recommendation - noobie

Post by Dusky » Tue May 11, 2021 6:38 pm

Hey everyone,

New forum member here (also relatively new to fishing). Apologies in advance for the question, I imagine it gets asked a lot.

I’ve been fishing on and off for about 2 years now, only ever at my local river catching primarily small bream on bait.

But after a great short holiday where I done a lot of fishing with with my family I’m starting to get into it a lot more.

I’d like to buy a new reel and rod as I’ve been using an old used one that isn’t in great condition, however I’m not sure what size reel to get.

I’d like to get the most bang for buck versatility wise so I thought if I mentioned what I planned to be fishing with it someone might be able to point me in the right direction.

The setup will be solely for bait fishing, but I plan to be using it in rivers, off piers and in lakes when we travel around. This will also include some fishing in bays from a boat. I’m not targeting any fish in particular, though I always want to catch whatever is biggest.

I’ve been recommended reels from salesmen between 2500 and 4000, Everyone recommended a 7ft rod.

I was thinking maybe a 3500 size reel and 7ft medium power rod, but would love some thoughts from people with more experience.

Thanks for any replies.

happyfriggincamper
Has liked: 556 times

Re: Reel Size recommendation - noobie

Post by happyfriggincamper » Tue May 11, 2021 7:07 pm