Ready to take the plunge into yak fishing

Bear123
Has liked: 39 times

Ready to take the plunge into yak fishing

Post by Bear123 » Wed Jun 17, 2020 9:30 am

Hey - I'm almost ready to take the next step to buying a fishing kayak and getting out onto the water.
I have a couple of questions if anyone is willing to help with.
I will hopefully be looking at fishing PPB, rivers and down mornington etc. I have never had a boat or kayak for fishing and mainly land base fished (particurlarly in Qld). I'm no doubt going to be looking for a second hand yak (or a barely used one) and looking at $2200 tops

- Is a sounder needed?
- There are so many different brands of kayaks out there - I'm more tempted to spend the extra money on a Hobie. Am I just falling victim to name brands?
- how old is too old for a second hand yak?
- Unfortunately none of my friends have a kayak, and I don't really want to be going fishing alone, are there any clubs out there, particularly as I'm a beginner and never had boating experience (for rules etc)
- I'm leaning towards a pedal kayak, not sure why, I think it's just because that's what I've seen most people using. Any reasons for/against?
- Other than a fishing licence are there any other requirements before I actually go out?

I'm sure I have heaps more questions but I think they are the main ones.

Thank you for any advice
:nw: :tu: :wt:

4liters
Has liked: 6 times

Re: Ready to take the plunge into yak fishing

Post by 4liters » Wed Jun 17, 2020 12:04 pm

- Is a sounder needed? In theory? No. In practice? Yes, it makes a huge difference and the sounder not working is usually enough for me to pack up and go home.