Land Based KGW

King George Whiting, KGW, Ting
Tony T

Land Based KGW

Post by Tony T » Sat Nov 24, 2012 11:44 am

Hi guys I'm new to Fishing Victoria and looking to target some KGW. Any recommendations for a land based spot western port or port Phillip

CarlG
Has liked: 1 time

Re: Land Based KGW

Post by CarlG » Sat Nov 24, 2012 1:16 pm

Thin on the ground down on the peninsula mate. I think the netters have smashed them..keep seeing mats of sea grass floating past the piers..not a good sign..
Carl..

Tomcat1

Post by Tomcat1 » Sat Nov 24, 2012 8:18 pm

i have been catching them off the beaches. haven't caught my limit in them or anything but on good calm days i can usually catch like 4 or 5 when im targeting them. i usually use a whole loaf of bread broken up into big pieces soaked with tuna oil in a burley bag to wash around in the surf. and use size 1 or 2 circle hooks with squid strips or pipies for bait. look for areas with reef or seaweed and sand between. get your bait in the sandy areas.

Master-pro

Post by Master-pro » Sat Nov 24, 2012 9:46 pm

Tomcat1 wrote:i have been catching them off the beaches. haven't caught my limit in them or anything but on good calm days i can usually catch like 4 or 5 when im targeting them. i usually use a whole loaf of bread broken up into big pieces soaked with tuna oil in a burley bag to wash around in the surf. and use size 1 or 2 circle hooks with squid strips or pipies for bait. look for areas with reef or seaweed and sand between. get your bait in the sandy areas.
Where have you been catching them? :o
PB- Snapper 55cm, Whiting 38cm, Flathead 55cm, Bream 38cm, Australian Salmon 55cm, Carp 80cm

Tomcat1

Post by Tomcat1 » Sat Nov 24, 2012 10:56 pm

I'm not going to say where i catch them lol. Last time i told of a good fishing spot it got so full i couldn't get a line out to fish lol. it took me a while to find my little KGW spot so i'm not giving up the location hahahaha.

fishingvic
Site Admin
Site Admin