Trouble Sounding fish

Big Red's, Pinkies, Pagrus auratus, Melbourne Snapper, the Crimson Tide
snapper hunter

Trouble Sounding fish

Post by snapper hunter » Sun Dec 10, 2017 7:43 pm

Just wondering if anyone else out here is having this problem.

Today in the bay was a total crazy Snapper bag out session, one of those days you are glad to be a boat owner BUT, I sounded all morning and I marked 1 snapper only in that whole time!

I sounded for a good hour before finally dropping the pick, and the only reason I dropped anchor is cause the sun was rising and we were were about to miss daybreak. There was absolutely nothing on the sounder when I anchored, and no marks inbetween winching in fish.

Now, there had to be fish under our boat, this place was full of fish!

I have been fishing for over 20 years and I know how to use sounders but this is my first Furuno sounder and it has been perfect up until today. My old Lowrance sounder would get electrical interference and the screen would light up with arches at all depths, fish that were not there. It seems I am having the opposite problem with this Furuno

Specs are
Furuno FCV587
B60 tranny
using dual high and low frequency

I get excellent readings of the bottom at all speeds.

I hope someone can help.

frozenpod
Has liked: 81 times

Re: Trouble Sounding fish

Post by frozenpod » Sun Dec 10, 2017 8:06 pm

If the transducer the correct angle for your hull.

Is it installed correctly?

Nude up
Has liked: 333 times

Post by Nude up » Sun Dec 10, 2017 11:18 pm