Hi guys!

This is the place to introduce and tell everyone about yourself.
ZestyLemon

Hi guys!

Post by ZestyLemon » Sat Apr 14, 2018 9:26 am

Hi!
I'm Matthew, and a complete newbie to fishing - I picked it up after the kids (12 and 13) saw some bloke pick up a 50cm snapper from a pier they were swimming at. I am mainly landbased in the Mordialloc region, but willing to drive up to 30 minutes for a spot.
We decided to start with soft plastics, as that was what the bloke was using to catch the snapper. All three of us have got a Kmart 6'6 2-4kg rod, Shimano sienna 2500 spooled with 10lb braid and 20lb flourocarbon leader, with a 1/6 oz tt jighead 1/0 size hook paired with a zman slim swimz in watermelon red.
I haven't really gone to a saltwater trip as we haven't had the time, but I have managed to catch stocked trout on them.
However, I'm not too sure where to go, could you guys please point me to a spot where I am in for a chance of flathead and pinkies, and inform me of the retrieves used (the kids haven't landed a fish yet and are losing hope )
Cheers!

A-a-ron
Has liked: 32 times

Re: Hi guys!

Post by A-a-ron » Sat Apr 14, 2018 9:49 am

ZestyLemon wrote:Hi!
I'm Matthew, and a complete newbie to fishing - I picked it up after the kids (12 and 13) saw some bloke pick up a 50cm snapper from a pier they were swimming at. I am mainly landbased in the Mordialloc region, but willing to drive up to 30 minutes for a spot.
We decided to start with soft plastics, as that was what the bloke was using to catch the snapper. All three of us have got a Kmart 6'6 2-4kg rod, Shimano sienna 2500 spooled with 10lb braid and 20lb flourocarbon leader, with a 1/6 oz tt jighead 1/0 size hook paired with a zman slim swimz in watermelon red.
I haven't really gone to a saltwater trip as we haven't had the time, but I have managed to catch stocked trout on them.