Queens Birthday - Phillip Island Sharks

CanuckDownUnder

Queens Birthday - Phillip Island Sharks

Post by CanuckDownUnder » Fri Jun 06, 2014 12:23 pm

I'm heading out to San Remo for the weekend, planning on doing a lot of land-based around the eastern entrance and across the top side of the island between Ventnor and Silverleaves. Instead of targeting any one species, I plan to have both running sinker and paternoster out with calamari, pilchard or pipi.

Maybe head down to Cape Wollamai. I feel like salmon will be the most common species given the time of year, but I'm not experienced in surf fishing. I can only cast about 30m, I don't think that's enough for surf fishing. If anything, I'll probably just throw some slugs out.

The highlight of my trip will be hiring a boat on Sunday. I've researched a few GPS marks and got them saved. Only time I've been fishing on a boat in several years is charters with 12-20 inexperienced people, targeting small fish in big numbers, not great. I can't wait to get out there.

Now - a big question I'm hoping I can get some advice on before 5pm today (won't be near computers for rest of weekend). How do I handle a shark? I'd like to drop a 8/0 or 10/0 hook with wire trace & 60lb line and hope for a big gummy or, better yet, seven gill or a bronzie. Problem is, there is a lot of conflicting information out there about the quality of eating, if they're worth keeping, how to bleed and fillet, etc. I'm also concerned about keeping my ankles safe. And, if I am going to release, keeping my hands safe.

if anyone can give advice in the next few hours it will be much appreciated! Cheers and I hope everyone has a good, safe long weekend.
"Look at where Jesus went to pick people. He didn't go to the colleges; he got guys off the fishing docks." - Jeff Foxworthy

purple5ive
Has liked: 567 times

Re: Queens Birthday - Phillip Island Sharks

Post by purple5ive » Fri Jun 06, 2014 12:43 pm