Gone Fishing for 5 times, Caught Nothing :(

The Fishing Victoria Forum is Australia's leading online fishing forum with comprehensive resources for Victorian fishermen, anglers and fishos. Check out the latest fishing & tackle news, tips, fishing reports and detailed fish information.
Ziggy

Gone Fishing for 5 times, Caught Nothing :(

Post by Ziggy » Mon Apr 01, 2013 5:16 pm

Hello everyone.

Yes I'm a beginner. that's why i've caught nothing and I decided it's time to really take this to next level. That's why I registered here. So yes, I am so glad that I am now a member here and ask you experts useful advice on fishing.

I live in South East Melbourne. I went to Mornington jetty once caught nothing, same thing happened in Frankston pier. I went to Kilcunda and fished just on the rocky beach and caught a rainbow fish but it was too small for the allowed size so i returned it. Same thing happened last weekend in Jethaven Jetty (?) in Phillip Island.

I have a borrowed rod but i don't know what it can catch because my line always snaps. I lost those "fake fish" hooks :( I used the size 4 hooks. I want to catch a decent fish but i don't know where to start.

So I have a few questions.

1. What rod and line combo should I get if I am aiming for a decent fish to catch this autumn.
2. I know South East is a good area to fish but where do I go or what area tips do I subscribe to to get fish? (That is such a newbie question)
3. I would prefer land based fishing really because i am a bit intimidated to start going on a boat trip.

Thank you in advance guys. This forum rocks!

CrazyChenski

Re: Gone Fishing for 5 times, Caught Nothing :(

Post by CrazyChenski » Mon Apr 01, 2013 5:29 pm

Welcome Ziggy. We have all gone down the same path, so don't get disheatening.