Anglesea and Surrounds Help

Point Lonsdale Pier, Lorne, Barwon Heads, Torquay, Aireys Inlet, Angelsea, Ocean Grove
HarryS11

Anglesea and Surrounds Help

Post by HarryS11 » Sun Jan 17, 2016 11:21 pm

I'm staying at Anglesea for a week or so and am looking to get a bit of fishing in, the problem is I'm a complete novice when it comes to anything salt.
I'm wondering if anyone would be able to point me in the right direction. I'm hoping to get a couple of king George whiting (or just whiting in general), squid and flathead while I'm here.
I'm land based but fine with travelling up to 30km. Most beach fishing is also out because I don't have a surf rod.
Time, tide, bait, and location advice would all be very helpful.

Thanks for the much-needed advice
-Harry

ingeer

Re: Anglesea and Surrounds Help

Post by ingeer » Mon Jan 18, 2016 8:15 am

Just to make sure you are not fishing in the marine sanctuary...
Lorne pier is a good spot if you drive down a little bit

Lecterfan

Post by Lecterfan » Mon Jan 18, 2016 8:17 am

If you're chasing whiting and are happy with school whiting also then you don't necessarily need a surf rod to fish some of the beaches in the area...not all of them are full blown 'surf' beaches with distant gutters...in fact there are two fairly sheltered bays either side of the river that you can hit up with light tackle, a 6-9ft rod, maybe some berley and off you go. You will get a feel for the lay of the land. Change of tide, high or low, but be prepared to get your feet wet...if being quiet and using a touch of barley you can get onto them in less than a metre of water.

I have also fished the far western end of Eastern View (past fair haven) on lighter tackle by wading out a little bit and casting light gear around with some fresh squid on it and slowly dragging it around. You can generally get onto something doing that.

Lightningx
Bluefin
Bluefin
Has liked: 72 times

Post by Lightningx » Mon Jan 18, 2016 8:30 am