3 Carp lost to a small hook

Trout, Redfin, Salmonoids, Carp etc
simon2g

3 Carp lost to a small hook

Post by simon2g » Sat Oct 17, 2015 9:23 am

Hey guys,

I was fishing unweighted yesterday and I'm pretty new to it. It's been great the amount of bites and fish that pick up my bait but i am yet to land a fish using the unweighted method. Yesterday i was fishing in a snaggy hole which seemed to hold quite a lot of carp. Berleyed with bread, chucked on a size 6 circle hook as I wanted to see how i go with small hooks. Previously i was using size 6 BH which are quite a bit larger than the size 6 circle.

Anyway I hooked 3 carp during my ~2 hour session, and lost them all. Every time it was a similar story, the first two i hooked and as soon as they went for a run once they had finished that run and the line was tight, my hook broke off from the line. Now I've always tied my knots well and with alot of care, and never had this happen before. Only now with this small hook, wondering if a different knot is better for the smaller hooks? I am using the clinch knot. I had braid ML 6LB, to flurocarbon leader 4LB pretty light, but line didnt break the knot did.

I decided to upsize my hook as I thought I'd be able to get into one, once I upsized I got plenty of bites but no takes. This happened for about half hour, before I switched back to the smaller hook once more, and took extra care with the knot, also passing it through the loop twice (improved clinch knot) this time to ensure knot strength.

Same thing happened again, and there is no chance he broke me off on a snag, as the first two were pretty much at the surface when they broke off as I was fishing 3-4M infront of me.

I don't know what to do from here, as I don't wanna drop more fish.. but I dont wanna lose those chances to from going to a bigger hook. I know people have success on carp with bigger hooks, but so far I've seen a massive difference by downsizing my hooks in terms of activity from fish.

Cheers,