Kingfish Barwon Heads PPB rip

Maynefisher

Kingfish Barwon Heads PPB rip

Post by Maynefisher » Wed Aug 21, 2019 10:15 pm

Hey guys, over the coming summer I’m looking forward to try and tackle kingfish in the PPB rip and off out Barwon Heads. I’ve never done this fishing before so how should I fish for them kingfish and what should I look for on the sounder ? What fresh bait do I use and how do I catch it ( slimy mackerel )? Just want a good understanding so when I go out there I can give it a red hot crack! Looks like great fun

smile0784
Has liked: 39 times

Re: Kingfish Barwon Heads PPB rip

Post by smile0784 » Wed Aug 21, 2019 10:23 pm

I believe most people use live squid as bait
Some jig for them

Lightningx
Bluefin
Bluefin
Has liked: 72 times

Post by Lightningx » Wed Aug 21, 2019 10:33 pm

Yea a lot of my mates use live squid in the rip for them or jig. But jigging is tough work :)

Sebb
Has liked: 3010 times

Post by Sebb » Wed Aug 21, 2019 10:57 pm

Lightningx wrote:
Wed Aug 21, 2019 10:33 pm
Yea a lot of my mates use live squid in the rip for them or jig. But jigging is tough work :)
Yeah a lot of people do vertical jigging with 200-300gm metal jig.
Tiring enough to do that and if you do get a hit, it'll be even more tiring. Not that I've landed a kingie but I've done the 4 hrs jigging (...and donut).
------------------------------
A fish is a fish :ft:
No fish is worth a life, stay safe

Lightningx
Bluefin
Bluefin

Post by Lightningx » Wed Aug 21, 2019 11:01 pm

Seb85 wrote:
Wed Aug 21, 2019 10:57 pm
Lightningx wrote:
Wed Aug 21, 2019 10:33 pm
Yeah a lot of people do vertical jigging with 200-300gm metal jig.
Tiring enough to do that and if you do get a hit, it'll be even more tiring. Not that I've landed a kingie but I've done the 4 hrs jigging (...and donut).
Haha yea Seb! I’ve had multiple sessions with ALOT of jigging for donuts as well and my arms were about to fall off :rofl: much prefer the livie technique :thumbsup:

cobby
Has liked: 136 times