peninsula trip

Rosebud, Tootgarook, Rye, Blairgowrie, Sorrento
nickfish

peninsula trip

Post by nickfish » Sun Jan 03, 2016 6:09 pm

Hi all hope you've all had a great start to the new years, tomorrow me an a couple mates are going up towards blargowie way and fishing pretty much all day and night and the next day heading up on a boat. i was after some tips we want to target kgw,squid, gummie shark,flathead and anything else that decides to swim past. I have had recent luck fishing BG on one trip ended up with 17 legal kgw and 7 squid so i know what im doing for them two because there normally my target species but as for the gummys, flathead and maybe even salmon im a bit of a novice and would greatly appreciate some tips. i was thinking berly up at BG all morning and day and go for whitting and squid like i did last time, then after dark move to sorento or portsea and cast out some surf rods chum up and go for pinkes and gummies. so with all of that said any help would be greatly appreciated even which side of the pier to fish at,
thanks all for reading happy new year and happy fishing as well :thumbsup:

dezza68

Re: peninsula trip

Post by dezza68 » Sun Jan 03, 2016 6:26 pm

I've fished Portsea a fair bit but not seen any snapper caught there. Normally a procession of rays and rubbish sharks on the bottom, supposed to be some whiting though. That said its a good place for big squid.
Cast, catch and put it back

nickfish

Post by nickfish » Sun Jan 03, 2016 6:52 pm

dezza68 wrote:I've fished Portsea a fair bit but not seen any snapper caught there. Normally a procession of rays and rubbish sharks on the bottom, supposed to be some whiting though. That said its a good place for big squid.
thanks heaps man glad to know im not wasting my time targeting gummies and snapper there

4liters
Has liked: 6 times

Post by 4liters » Sun Jan 03, 2016 7:14 pm