beginner fisherman needing help

Carrum, Patterson River/Lakes, Aspendale, Edithvale, Chelsea, Seaford, Frankston
viclovesfish

beginner fisherman needing help

Post by viclovesfish » Mon Jul 29, 2013 2:42 pm

Hello Gentleman and ladies(if any), I hope you are all extremely well, I am Vic from Berwick and is new in fishing, I just want to ask any landbased fishing spot close to my place aside from warneet and tooradin which can be productive. I am new in Surf fishing as well but I am interested to learn and already bought the equipment needed after further research. Wether surf beach or jetty doesnt matter

Appreciate any advice you can give, thanks in advance

Abuthen

Re: beginner fisherman needing help

Post by Abuthen » Mon Jul 29, 2013 4:27 pm

Black rock, Mordialloc and Patterson are probably your nearest "west" of your area alternative to Warneet. I'm pretty new at this too but there is so much info in this forum. I'm actually hoping some members can even organise small meetups for beginners, as reading about it and doing it are very different things. (I hear they had a great trip at gunners) What i HAVE found out is that it can be pretty frustrating/disappointing to begin the fisho journey during these few months. More likely than not we can start a doughnut shop with all the doughnuts we keep catching.

I mostly go to the Patto on Friday evenings, though I know I pretty likely won't catch anything. Caught a bream once that was just shy of the legal 28 cm. Mostly its practice of casting. Hopefully by September/October things will pick up and I will be more encouraged.

You're more than welcome to join me there. I mostly use lures, but also cast out a bait, and then lure while keeping an eye out on that rod with bait.
Abuthen

davek
Has liked: 268 times

Post by davek » Mon Jul 29, 2013 5:48 pm

:welcome: mate, I can't really help you but good luck with your fishing adventures, cheers davo
It's an exhilarating feeling catching a fish