Attaching leader to main line

Everything about bream
Fishingzoey

Attaching leader to main line

Post by Fishingzoey » Fri Aug 29, 2014 7:43 pm

Hi all,

I'm just getting into fishing and I got a rod and reel from a mate. According to my mate the reel is spooled with 4lbs braid.

I wanted to know whether to attach the leader directly to main line or attach via a swivel?

Is it preferable to use a running sinker rig with a leader attached to the mainline via a swivel?

Thanks
Mick

Four wheels move the body but two wheels move the soul.

Dano

Re: Attaching leader to main line

Post by Dano » Fri Aug 29, 2014 7:57 pm

swivel would be best to stop your slider sliding down to your hook

bowl
Has liked: 292 times

Post by bowl » Fri Aug 29, 2014 8:26 pm

Paternosta rig is popular ,google a vid on how to do it...
To many boats kayak, helicopter , catch a fish,catch a fish

Fishingzoey

Post by Fishingzoey » Fri Aug 29, 2014 8:42 pm

Thanks for the responses so far. Something else I just thought about, does the area I'm fishing in determine whether to use a swivel or tie the leader directly to the main line? For example, fishing at Patterson river, how would you set up?

Sorry for the questions. I'm a complete newb.

Wolly Bugger
Has liked: 13 times

Post by Wolly Bugger » Fri Aug 29, 2014 9:10 pm

Fishingzoey wrote:Thanks for the responses so far. Something else I just thought about, does the area I'm fishing in determine whether to use a swivel or tie the leader directly to the main line? For example, fishing at Patterson river, how would you set up?

Obtain Wilsons book on knots and rigs, there some good websites that also that have some good instructions.

DougieK
Has liked: 30 times

Post by DougieK » Fri Aug 29, 2014 9:17 pm

Hi Zoey,

I would highly recommend Geoff Wilsons book about rigs and baits, and also the AFN landbased guide to port phillip bay. Excellent books to begin to build your knowledge base and diversify your techniques.