Targeting bream

Black Rock, Beaumaris, Half Moon Bay, Mordialloc, Parkdale
Sputnik22

Targeting bream

Post by Sputnik22 » Fri Mar 29, 2013 6:07 pm

Hi, newbie here.

I was hoping for some advice on targeting bream on Mordy pier and Patterson river. What's the best set up for your line? I prefer using bait, so what bait? When is the best time - I have been trying either side of the high/low tide.

I have seen a few guys there landing massive bream with great frequency. One guy showed me he was using fresh shrimp he said he'd caught at Patterson lakes. Any advice on this? I would love to catch some of these, because the bream were just slaughtering them.

Any advice would be great!

Cheers.

Fish-Hunter

Re: Targeting bream

Post by Fish-Hunter » Fri Mar 29, 2013 6:11 pm

:welcome: Bream are very slow growing fish , so big Bream are best returned back to continue living as breeding stock . Being your first post to the site , tell us a bit about yourself "introductions" ussually come first .

Sputnik22

Post by Sputnik22 » Fri Mar 29, 2013 6:16 pm

MIKER wrote::welcome: Bream are very slow growing fish , so big Bream are best returned back to continue living as breeding stock . Being your first post to the site , tell us a bit about yourself "introductions" ussually come first .
I would call myself a sometimes recreational fisher. I really love it and as I have some time on my hands, I am spending a bit of it locally looking for some good fishing. The bream seem to be a good one to target off Mordy pier. I have caught my fair share of flathead over the years, the occasional snapper. The highlight of my fishing career was definitely in the NT in a small boat in the Arafura sea. Caught all sorts of massive gamey fish there, giant trevally, queen fish, etc. etc.

I'm am pretty inexperienced, but a quick learner.

Fish-Hunter

Post by Fish-Hunter » Fri Mar 29, 2013 6:25 pm