New boat-WPB gummy/red advice appreciated !

Gummy Sharks, Mako Sharks, Thresher Sharks, Elephant Sharks, Banjo Sharks, Port Jackson Sharks, Seven Gill Sharks, and more
STriplett1997
Has liked: 14 times

New boat-WPB gummy/red advice appreciated !

Post by STriplett1997 » Wed Sep 06, 2017 12:50 pm

G'day,

Just bought a 5m half cabin, that im mooring at yaringa harbour, stoked! Ready for the upcomming season :thumbsup:

im fairly new to westernport boating & fishing, only fishing it twice on boat with one time getting lucky on some gummies and pinkies around tortoise head bank :-D but that was awhile ago. i've done some research finding some known spots for gummies & snapper but just want some direct advice etc. Was thinking about giving the channel along tyabb bank towards Lysaghts and Lysaghts itself a go on sunday. What oz sinker is usually the go here? will be using fresh salmon for bait in strips from the fillet, not sure whether to do snelled hooks or single gama circle for a hang bait? chunks will be too big imo, will also have pillies & frozen squid onboard. any advice around that area or anywhere else at this time of year is appreciated, cheers!

not asking for secrets just some direction :water:

smile0784
Has liked: 39 times

Re: New boat-WPB gummy/red advice appreciated !

Post by smile0784 » Wed Sep 06, 2017 1:06 pm

Sinkers range from 2oz when theres no tide running and 10oz + when big tide running

crumpet_avenger
Has liked: 6 times

Post by crumpet_avenger » Wed Sep 06, 2017 1:40 pm

I use snelled hooks when fishing fillet baits like salmon couta and yakkas. single hook for chunks. smaller chunks catch more desirable fish. bigger chunks attract rays and banjos in my experiences.
im usually getten itchy feet to start on the snapper this time of year.. but I haven't landed a decent snapper until October. I have more success on gummies down the western entrance

STriplett1997

Post by STriplett1997 » Wed Sep 06, 2017 2:05 pm