Hitting a Mako off Lakes Entrance...

Gummy Sharks, Mako Sharks, Thresher Sharks, Elephant Sharks, Banjo Sharks, Port Jackson Sharks, Seven Gill Sharks, and more
Davidsch1

Hitting a Mako off Lakes Entrance...

Post by Davidsch1 » Wed Apr 06, 2016 8:43 am

I’m after some tips for Mako fishing off Lakes Entrance! I’m completely new to shark fishing, and I’ve never caught a decent eating shark in my life (only Port Jacksons and Carpets). I plan to head offshore into about 50-60m water (is that deep enough??) to catch a mako, as I heard they are the best eating shark if you like flake.
So here are my questions:
1. Is it too late in the year or season for fishing for makos?
2. What size Makos can I expect to catch off Lakes Entrance?
3. How deep does the water need to be? Is 50-60m deep fine or should I be deeper?
4. Best bait? I would have preferred live bait, like salmon, but I’m not sure I can get live salmon if I plan to head offshore early in the morning….what about eel from BCF? Or just those little slimy mackerel fish that are about 15cm long? Any useful little fish I can pick up from inside Lakes Entrance before sunrise that might be excellent bait for Makos?
5. What’s the best time of day? Sunrise? Mornings? Anytime of the day?
6. I plan to drift when I get to the depth of water I plan to fish in, and then berley up while drifting in the current. I was planning to use a combination of homemade burley blocks (which consist of chook pellets, tuna oil and heaps of vitamised leftover bait frozen into blocks), tuna oil, and the Neptune Fish Magnet blocks. Is that the best stuff to use to create a burley trail?
7. How long should we expect to wait while burleying up? 1/2 hour? 1 hour? Few hours?? Half a day?????