Gummy shark fishing

Gummy Sharks, Mako Sharks, Thresher Sharks, Elephant Sharks, Banjo Sharks, Port Jackson Sharks, Seven Gill Sharks, and more
Telec

Gummy shark fishing

Post by Telec » Wed Jan 13, 2016 5:34 pm

Hi guys,
I am new to gummy shark fishing and would greatly appreciate if anyone can guide me to where and what kind of tide to look at, as well as what rig to use I have gone and got at rod 10 kg and using a 4000 Stradic with 20 lb daiwa braid and 30 lb black magic leader,
Whats type of bait ? is it the same as the snapper rigs
I am located in the western suburbs and have been told to look at werribee beach wall, swan bay and st.leonards
Trying to find a beach place before I try the piers or rocks thanks .

bowl
Has liked: 292 times

Re: Gummy shark fishing

Post by bowl » Wed Jan 13, 2016 6:04 pm

Hello .
I use paternosta,sometimes with flashes.
Salmon for bait.
I have caught them them in as little as 2metrs of water in my boat around werribee
Was a bronze bronzes whaler caught off that rockwall
To many boats kayak, helicopter , catch a fish,catch a fish

BIG GAV
Has liked: 2 times

Post by BIG GAV » Wed Jan 13, 2016 6:22 pm

I've never caught any in port Phillip but I fish wp more. Tenby point/ corinella is a great spot to target them landbased..

My gummy rod is a 10-15kg ugly stick and a 6000 bait runner but your outfit is fine u would want to consider beefing up your leader to about a meter or more cause they wrap themselves up sometimes.. Fresh salmon works a treat so does squid heads whiting heads etc but I normally use a big bloody fillet of a yakka or salmon.. 6/0 hook should suffice just pierce the fillet through from the flesh through the skin on a running sinker rig.

In saying all this you can catch em while snapper fishing on pippi or squid pilchard etc.. Happy hunting
If I'm not fishing, I'd rather be fishing!

ducky
Has liked: 22 times

Post by ducky » Wed Jan 13, 2016 7:03 pm